3D Butterfly (Free Crochet Pattern)

I first made a little 3D butterfly about 5 years ago, for a yarn bombing project I was taking part in with my local crochet group. We all made lots of flowers and butterflies and decorated a wall in the town centre with them. It looked amazing! I recently tried to follow the pattern that I wrote back then and, as I wasn’t as experienced in pattern writing back then, it seemed unnecessarily complicated. I found myself getting frustrated with the pattern so I decided to update it. This is the updated pattern, easier and quicker to make but the end butterfly is still almost identical.

If you would like to make your own, you will need a 4mm crochet hook and DK yarns in a main colour and a contrasting colour. You will also need a pair of scissors, a stitch marker and a yarn needle.

3D Butterfly (Free Crochet Pattern)

Wings:

1. with main colour yarn, make a magic loop, ch2, work 16dcs in loop, join with slst in top of 1st dc, pull centre yarn tail tightly to close loop (16)

2. ch2, do not turn, 2dcs in st at base of ch, ch1, 2dcs in same st, sk1st, *(2dcs, ch1, 2dcs) in next st, sk1st*, repeat from *-* to end, join with slst in top of 1st dc

3. do not ch or turn, place stitch marker under join st, *2dcs in next chsp, ch1, 2dcs in same chsp, slst inbetween previous row’s shells*, repeat from *-* to end, join with slst in top of 1st dc

4. ch1, do not turn, hdc in st at base of ch, dc in next st, (dc, ch1, dc) in chsp, dc in next st, hdc in next st, slst in previous row’s slst, *hdc in next st, dc in next st, (dc, ch1, dc) in chsp, dc in next st, hdc in next st, slst in previous row’s slst*, repeat from *-* to end, join with slst in top of 1st hdc

5. join contrasting colour yarn, ch1, do not turn, *hdc in 3sts, 3dcs in chsp, hdc in 3sts, slst in previous row’s slst*, repeat from *-* to end, join with slst in top of 1st hdc, bind off and weave in ends

Body:

1.with contrasting colour yarn, ch36, bind off, fold butterfly in half and wrap body around wings, tie at the top of the wings to secure, tie a knot in the top of each antennae and weave in ends

I hope you enjoyed making this little 3D crochet butterfly. I would love to see any butterflies you make using this pattern. Feel free to tag me on social media (@adeleuyancrochet) so I can see them! Or why not join our Facebook group to show off your creations. Happy crocheting.

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Leave a comment